Getting Ready for a New Season

As we come up to the end of another season, we want to thank you all for being part of the club, especially through this challenging year. The club runs thanks to the dedicated work of a small number of members who volunteer their time to sit on the executive to plan and pull off all of our various schemes. So I want to take a moment to recognize our current team who have been working and advising diligently behind the scenes: Ian Crawford, Laura Mingail, Katarina Gligorijevic, Patrick Nemeth and Artemus Syman. 

Normally these members are elected for a term of one year, however after last year got… weird… we asked them to stay on for another year. As we inch closer to normal, we need to have elections for the new season which will begin in September.

Specifically, we are looking for five people who will sit on the board and look after the following very important things in the new season: 

1. Securing a new venue for us to use when we go back to meeting in person
2. Programming for our upcoming meetings, both virtually, and eventually in person (yay!)
3. Member engagement
4. Keeping the club’s website and social media pages up to date
5. Managing the club’s finances
6. Modernizing the Constitution

This opportunity is open to all current members of the club. If you want to contribute, please send us an email ( along with a sentence or three about which of the above you feel qualified to help with. Please let us know no later than Thursday, June 3, 2021. We will share the information with the members so that we can have a vote at the end of June. 

If you’re not able to devote the time to being on the board but have thoughts and suggestions you want to put forward, you can also email us ( and we will consider everything when the new executive meets.

Thanks again for being part of one of the country’s oldest magic institutions. We’re looking forward to another great (and slightly more normal) year!

James Alan

Conjuring for a Cure – WE DID IT!

Thank so much to everyone who tuned to watch our show last night. Conjuring for a Cure featured 20 magicians from Toronto and around the world and we raised over $5,500 for the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation.

Thank you to our performers who donated their time and talent:

Jonah Babins, David Ben, Ian Crawford, Matt DiSero, Shawn Farquhar, Gerry Frenette, Robert Herd, Lulu Lin, Patrick Nemeth, Paul Pacific, Marty Papernick, David Peck, Jeff Pinsky, Gordon Precious, Khanya Rubushe, Ari Soroka, Ben Train, Glenn West, “Brookalini” Westfall, Mark Wicken, Andrew Woo

If you missed the show, check it out:

And the link is still open if you would like to DONATE.

Thank you to everyone who supported our campaign and contributed to a great show. We wish you a safe and happy holiday season and look forward to more magic in 2021.

Conjuring for a Cure

Please come and join us for an evening of virtual magic, raising money for the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation.

Thursday, December 3, 2020
8:00 PM Eastern

Over a dozen magicians from our club have teamed up to share some mystery, wonder and fun, safely from home for you to enjoy. And along the way, we hope you’ll donate in support of a great cause.

The show features the magical talents of:

… and more!

Hosted by :

James Alan

Len Cooper Memorial Award, 2020

We are thrilled to announce that the latest recipient of the Len Cooper Memorial Award is our very own treasurer Patrick Nemeth!

Patrick on Stage at the “Newest Trick in The Book”

The award is given out each year to a promising young magician. The award is named after the original owner of the Browser’s Den of Magic in Toronto, and is normally presented each year in November at the shop’s anniversary party.

This year the award was presented privately by Jeff Pinsky:

The prize includes a complete set of the Tarbell Course in Magic and a professional magician’s jacket:

Ok… not the jacket.

Way to go Patrick!

Election Results

We’re pleased to share the results of the election. The club executive for the 2020-21 season will be:

James Alan

Vice Presidents
Laura Mingail & Ian Crawford

Kat G.

Patrick Nemeth

Past President
Artemus Syman

On behalf of the executive, we look forward to the upcoming season… as complicated as it’s sure to be! Suggestions for programming (or anything else) can be directed to